Pages Navigation Menu

Official Public Holidays

DATE

DAY

HOLIDAY

1st January

Tuesday New Year’s day
12th January Saturday Revolution day
*24th or 25th January Thursday or Friday Maulid Day
29th January Friday Good Friday
1st April Monday Easter Monday
7th April Sunday Sheikh Abedi Amani Karume Day
26th April Friday Union Day
1st May Wednesday Worker’s Day
7th July Sunday International Trade Fair
8th August Thursday Peasant Day or Farmer’s Day
*9th or 10th August Friday or Saturday Idd-El Fitir
14th October Monday Mwalimu Nyere Day & Climax of The “Uhuru” Touch Race
*16th or 17th October Wednesday or Thursday Eid-El-Haji
9th December Monday Independence Day Or republic Day
25th December Wednesday Christmas Day
26th December Thursday Boxing Day 

NOTE: All Nigeria national holidays are observed and the Mission will remain closed on these days. Islamic Holidays are marked by (*) and dates are subject to sighting of the moon.